Selly Oak Trust School

Selly Oak Trust School

Life at Selly Oak Trust School Life at Selly Oak Trust School Life at Selly Oak Trust School Life at Selly Oak Trust School Life at Selly Oak Trust School Life at Selly Oak Trust School Life at Selly Oak Trust School


Key Stage 4 Curriculum & Options

The Key Stage 4 curriculum includes all the National Curriculum subjects statutory for students aged 14 to 16, including:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Physical Education
  • Skills for Life (incorporating Personal, Social and Health Education)

Students also choose three options from a range of academic and vocational qualifications or awards that meet their personal interest areas and skill set to support them on their journey to employability:

Year 10 Options

Students at Selly Oak Trust School have the opportunity to study a range of exciting skills based, vocational or traditional subjects that will equip them with the skills and knowledge that they will need for life after school and journey to employability. In Year 9 students will choose what subject options to take in Year 10 & 11.

Please watch the presentation video below and then for more information please read the options booklet on the link below. Paper copies have been sent out to all prospective students and staff will be in touch soon to ask which option you have chosen from each block (A, B & C):


Year 10 Options Booklet 2022 - click here to download a copy

During Key Stage 4 students also undertake modules linked to careers and transition to their next steps of learning as part of their skills for life lessons. 


All qualification subjects are assessed by internal or externally verified examinations and coursework.

Entry Level

  • This is for students operating at Levels 1 - 3 of the National Curriculum

Business and Technology Education Council (BTEC) qualification

  • Some qualifications are offered at Level 1 & Level 2 for students operating at those levels. Level 2 qualifications are equivalent to 2 GCSE qualifications at grades A-C/9-4


All BTEC courses offered at Key Stage 4 have a coursework requirement:

  • Some are assessed continually throughout the Key Stage and externally moderated by the awarding bodies.
  • Some have regular formal testing as determined by the awarding body
  • Some have a final test or examination at the end of the period of study, usually in Year 11.

For a full list of current Course Codes and Examining Bodies, click here. 

For more information, please contact Assistant Head Teacher Mr J Hawkins